May 10, 2021
Niflhel Records
Sophistry – noun – the use of clever but false arguments, especially with the intention of deceiving.
There is no deceiving with Edmonton, Canada’s SOPHIST, however, the trio of Michael K. Sparks (bass/guitar), Davis R. Hay (programming/vocals), Helge Lipphardt (guitar) are straightforward in their approach to grinding black metal.
Conjured in June of 2019 by Hay and Sparks, SOPHIST dove straight into recording their debut EP “Betrothal To The Stone: Conception of Mephisto”. Immediately after release, they started production on a follow up record and recruited Lipphardt for additional guitars and writing input.
The trio keeps the writing process simple, with Hay defining the drums and song structure followed by Lipphardt and Sparks’ overlay of bass and guitar. It is then blended with vocals, synths, and a nod to 80s & 90s production. Lyrical subjects include alchemy, the occult, and nihilism. These elements transmute into fast, flavorful “black grind”.
In November 2019 they signed with Niflhel Records to release their upcoming album “Dissolution”. A digital single, “In Nihilum Redactus” comes out everywhere on November 22.